Thursday for Thought : Lucy Liu steps outside the BOX, literally.

by kranARI

When my mother used to ask me what I wanted to be when I grew up I always used to say I wanted to be an artist. I had no idea what this meant of course, but I knew it had something to do with creating things and expressing myself in a fun way, without having to sit at a desk all day; and that suited me just fine. I lived in bliss for years thinking I had chosen the perfect career for myself but something suddenly changed after I finished college. When my peers asked me what my career plan was, I started feeling judged for not having chosen ONE artistic path. When friends and family members asked what I was doing or going to do with my life I had trouble explaining that my chosen career had no specific avenue and that I was dabbling in lots of different artistic sectors (theatre, film, photography, music, writing…) and that this was who I was : AN ARTIST.

Which brings me to today’s daily inspiration: Lucy Liu. First, a bit of background.

Lucy Liu by Hunger Tv painting

courtesy of HungerTv

In my eyes Lucy has always represented herself artistically through her cold, calculating characters with heart that transcend our television screens through beauty and wit. Her flawless forty two year old face (yes, I was also shocked) has been gracing our screens for over two decades in iconic roles on FOX’s Ally McBeal, Quentin Tarantino’s Kill Bill and now more recently on CBS’s Elementary. However, it has literally taken me a whole 15 years of watching and unrelating to her to finally STOP and look again. And this moment was today when I had the luck to run across a fabulous article that Hunger TV did on her called Brush with Fame.

Lucy Liu by Hunger Tv painting

courtesy of HungerTv

And what happened to me in this moment was miraculous!

I witnessed an actress who I had once mistakenly perceived to be one dimensional transform before my eyes into an all encompassed Artist. And I’m not just talking about the obvious, the fact that she is now a painter as well as an actress, but mostly the fact that in the following interviews she specifically talks about what it feels to be an artist. More specifically, the conundrum all artists are faced with when they are boxed into a very limited BOX by society and “its expectations” and what it feels to break free of that.

And let me tell you, I admire that- it takes guts to not define yourself. It takes courage to step outside that very “safe” BOX that gives us the illusion of belonging and saying: “You know what? This is who I am, this is what I love to do and I’m going to do it without announcing it to the world. Just do it!” So I salute Lucy Liu and whoever else is out there doing just that, well done, it takes guts and that is what being an artist should be.

Lucy Liu by Hunger Tv, painting

photo by HungerTv

VIDEOS courtesy of HUNGER TV

