Thursday for Thought : Rachel Shelley writes for DIVA

by kranARI

Rachel Shelley as Helena Photo: Max Vadukal/Showtime Photo photo property of Max Vadukal/Showtime

For all those L Word Fans out there, you might know that Laurel Holloman (aka -the faithful and passionate better half of Bette Porter, Tina) might have shifted her creative expression to painting, but Rachel Shelley (aka -the spoiled yet loveable, Helena) is not one to fall behind.

For a while now, I believe even before she left the L Word she has been doing some creating of her own. I have accidentally come across some of her commentary on the L Word and beyond (her memoirs from movie sets), on websites and now, not surprisingly, her own monthly column in the fabulous DIVA Magazine.

I myself have been an occasional reader of DIVA for a while now, but not until recently did I start purchasing it religiously. (Perhaps those HOT Lip Service covers are to blame or their innovative articles on gay parenting – I am not yet sure). The point is I have come to love DIVA and one of my favourite bits to read is Rachel Shelley’s column. What I also love is that when it comes the time to do a piece on the L Word, it is often Shelley who interviews the stars. She’s done two interviews on Jennifer Beals and Laurel Holloman respectively. What a treat!

I love how stylises her sentences with conventional yet refreshing British sayings and never fails to make me chuckle. I can just her Helena P annunciating every consonant as she types away briskly on her laptop. So sweet she is indeed!

So I urge you, even if you don’t read DIVA, to pick up one of their issues or order it online – these are the times I wish I had an IPAD! – and enjoy the clever ramblings of our fellow creative lady. I’m now seriously considering becoming a monthly subscriber – they’ve got me under their spell…

Rachel Shelley for ShowtimeRachel Shelley for Showtime

 

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

