Feature Friday : Gaga, Girl behind the mask

by kranARI

Lady Gaga mask

Lady Gaga Flare Magazine

There is a lot of buzz going around this girl this year, all well deserved. Between 2008 and 2009 Lady Gaga released “The Fame” and “The Fame Monster” which have catapulted her to incredible heights and she seems to be riding the wave quite graciously.

My initial reaction to her when I watched an interview of her on Ellen about a year ago, was who is this girl with the strange voice, really? She seemed meek, misunderstood, undeniably talented but different. I saw a girl seemingly hiding underneath these big clothes and masks and I was shocked to realise that it wasn’t “just” an act. An interviewer asked her what she’s like when she wakes up in the morning and she simply answered “I am exactly like this, I dress like this, I speak like this, this is not an act”. A fact that at the time scared me. I guess the thought that there wans’t someone “normal” hiding underneath those extra-terrestrial outfits was intimidating to me.

lady gaga

Lady Gaga Heidi Slimane

Which leads to me how I view her today. I guess what changed my mind was the most current Ellen interview. And it took someone that she really admires and feels comfortable around to be able to let loose. Underneath the mask she always literally wears, I finally saw the girl who “just wants to fit in”. She explains it nicely by claiming she creates a safe space for her fans to let loose and feel that it’s ok to be a freak. This made me smile. To view her latest single “Telephone” click on my guilty pleasure of the week.

Live acoustic version of “Poker Face”
Live acoustic version of “Paparazzi”
Live acoustic version of “Bad Romance” and “Speechless”

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

